The African American Film Critics Association (AAFCA) announced the winners of its upcoming 15th annual AAFCA Awards, which honor outstanding achievement in film. In a departure from last year, in which the organization gave Best Picture to “The Woman King,” this year’s top category was split into three, with “American Fiction” winning Best Comedy, “Origin” winning Best Drama, and “The Color Purple” winning Best Musical.

The trio of films also respectively sit atop AAFCA’s Top 10 Films of the Year. Winners were voted on by all of AAFCA’s 100+ members. The 15th Annual AAFCA Awards will take place on February 21 at the Beverly Wilshire, a Four Seasons Hotel in Beverly Hills. 

“It’s become a tradition to announce our winners on MLK Day,” said AAFCA president and co-founder Gil Robertson said in an official statement. “And what a great year for cinema showcasing the vibrant tapestry of Black storytelling, where diversity is not a trend, but an imperative. This year’s winners have inspired, challenged, and moved us and we are delighted to celebrate them and their cultural impact.”

AAFCA’s Top 10 Films list and the winners of the 15th Annual AAFCA Awards are:


  1. American Fiction
  2. Origin
  3. The Color Purple
  4. Oppenheimer
  5. Past Lives
  6. Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse
  7. Poor Things
  8. Anatomy of a Fall
  9. Killers of the Flower Moon
  10. Barbie


Best Drama: Origin

Best Comedy: American Fiction

Best Musical: The Color Purple

Best Director: Ava DuVernay (Origin)

Best Screenplay: American Fiction

Best Actor: Colman Domingo (Rustin)

Best Actress: Aunjanue Ellis-Taylor (Origin)

Best Supporting Actor: Sterling K. Brown (American Fiction)

Best Supporting Actress: *TIE* Da’Vine Joy Randolph (The Holdovers), Danielle Brooks (The Color Purple)

Best Ensemble: The Color Purple

Breakout Performance: Lily Gladstone (Killers of the Flower Moon)

Emerging Filmmaker: Cord Jefferson (American Fiction)

Best Independent Feature: A Thousand and One

Best Animated Feature: Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse

Best Documentary: Stamped From The Beginning

Best Music: The Color Purple

Best International Film: Io Capitano

Best Short Film: The After

The winners announced comes on the heels of AAFCA sharing its lineup of Special Achievement Awards honorees, which include “The Burial” star Jamies Foxx and his producing partner Datari Turner, “The Color Purple” choreographer Fatima Robinson, “Black and Blue” director Deon Taylor, “Killers of the Flower Moon,” Delta Airlines, and late film marketing strategist Michael Latt. That event, the 7th annual Special Achievement Awards Luncheon, will take place on March 3 at the Los Angeles Athletic Club.

More honorary awards recognizing exceptional achievements behind-the-camera and from the executive suites will be announced in February. The 2024 AAFCA Awards will take place on February 21.

Leave a comment