After two weeks of new cinema, the Berlin Film Festival comes to a close this Sunday, February 25, with its annual awards ceremony. This year’s event marks one of change, as festival artistic director Carlo Chatrian, at his post since 2018, steps down to make way for Tricia Tuttle, who will take over for next year’s outing.

This year’s Berlinale has already stirred plenty of buzz for films like Alonso Ruizpalacios’s “La Cocina,” a drama set in a New York City kitchen and starring Rooney Mara, and Tim Mielants’ opener “Small Things Like These,” starring likely Oscar winner Cillian Murphy. Both films are eligible for awards, along with “Timbuktu” director Abderrahmane Sissako’s “Black Tea,” “Goodnight Mommy” filmmakers Veronika Franz and Severin Fiala’s “The Devil’s Bath,” “The Guilty” director Gustav Möller’s “Sons,” Olivier Assayas’ “Suspended Time,” plus Aaron Schimberg’s Sundance hit “A Different Man,” and many more. This year’s auteur-packed main competition jury was led by Lupita Nyong’o and included Brady Corbet, Ann Hui, Christian Petzold, Albert Serra, Jasmine Trinca, and Oksana Zabuzhko, and they’ll reveal Sunday’s winners in a ceremony out of the festival grounds.

Last year’s Berlin jury was led by Kristen Stewart, who also appeared at the festival this year to promote “Love Lies Bleeding.” Winners in the 2023 main competition were led by Golden Bear taker “On the Adamant,” followed by Silver Bear runner-up “Afire” (from Petzold).

We’ll update the 2024 winners live below as they happen in Berlin.

Main Competition

Golden Bear: “Dahomey,” Mati Diop

Silver Bear Grand Jury Prize: “A Traveler’s Needs,” Hong Sangsoo

Silver Bear Jury Prize: “The Empire,” Bruno Dumont

Silver Bear for Best Director: “Pepe,” Nelson Carlos De Los Santos Arias

Silver Bear for Best Lead Performance: “A Different Man,” Sebastian Stan

Silver Bear for Best Supporting Performance: “Small Things Like These,” Emily Watson

Silver Bear for Best Screenplay: “Dying,” Matthias Glasner

Silver Bear for Outstanding Artistic Contribution: “The Devil’s Bath,” Martin Gschlacht, cinematography

Encounters winners:

Best Film: “Direct Action,” Guillaume Cailleau and Ben Russell

Best Director: “Cidade; Campo,” Juliana Rojas

Special Jury Award: “The Great Yawn of History,” Aliyar Rasti; “Some Rain Must Fall,” Qiu Yang

Documentary winners:

Best Documentary: “No Other Land,” Basel Adra, Hamdan Ballal, Yuval Abraham, Rachel Szor

Documentary Special Mention: “Direct Action,” Guillaume Cailleau and Ben Russell

Berlinale Shorts winners:

Golden Bear: “An Odd Turn,” Francisco Lezama

Silver Bear: “Remains of the Hot Day,” Wenqian Zhang

Special Mention: “That’s All From Me,” Eva Könnemann

Leave a comment