Hollywood blockbusters were shut out at the 44th London Critics’ Circle Awards, as “Barbie” and “Oppenheimer” both left empty handed while independent films swept the top categories. Jonathan Glazer’s Holocaust-set horror-drama won Film of the Year, and Glazer was individually honored with Director of the Year as well. Celine Song’s 2023 Sundance hit “Past Lives,” another Best Picture nominee, won Foreign-Language Film of the Year.

Many of the acting categories were dominated by Oscar frontrunners, as Emma Stone won Actress of the Year for “Poor Things” and Da’Vine Joy Randolph won Supporting Actress of the Year for “The Holdovers.” Oscar nominees Justine Triet and Arthur Harari shared Screenwriter of the Year for “Anatomy of a Fall,” and Hayao Miyazaki’s “The Boy and the Heron” won Animated Film of the Year. Notably, Supporting Actor of the Year went to Charles Melton, who did not receive an Oscar nomination despite strong finishes at several early award shows.

Keep reading for the complete list of winners at the 2024 London Critics’ Circle Awards.

Film of the Year
“The Zone of Interest”

Foreign-Language Film of the Year
“Past Lives”

Documentary of the Year
“20 Days in Mariupol”

Animated Film of the Year
“The Boy and the Heron”

Director of the Year
Jonathan Glazer – “The Zone of Interest”

Screenwriter of the Year
Justine Triet and Arthur Harari – “Anatomy of a Fall”

Actress of the Year
Emma Stone – “Poor Things”

Actor of the Year
Andrew Scott – “All of Us Strangers”

Supporting Actress of the Year
Da’Vine Joy Randolph – “The Holdovers”

Supporting Actress of the Year
Charles Melton – “May December”

Breakthrough Performer of the Year
Mia McKenna-Bruce – “How to Have Sex” 

The Attenborough Award, Best British/Irish Film
“All of Us Strangers”

The Philip French Award, Best Breakthrough British/Irish Filmmaker
Molly Manning Walker – “How to Have Sex”

British/Irish Performer of the Year
Paul Mescal – “All of Us Strangers,” “God’s Creatures,” “Foe,” “Carmen”

Young British/Irish Performer of the Year
Lola Campbell – “Scrapper” 

British/Irish Short Film of the Year
“The Veiled City” – dir. Natalie Cubides-Brady

Technical Achievement Award
“The Zone of Interest” – music and sound, Mica Levi and Johnnie Burn

The Dilys Powell Award, Excellence in Film
Jeffrey Wright

The Derek Malcolm Award for Innovation
Colman Domingo

Leave a comment