The 36th European Film Awards took place in Berlin on Saturday, honoring the best cinema to emerge from Europe in 2023. The nominations, which were selected by the European Film Academy, were heavy on arthouse hits that emerged from the Cannes Film Festival including Justine Triet’s “Anatomy of a Fall,” Aki Kaurismäki’s “Fallen Leaves,” and Jonathan Glazer’s “The Zone of Interest.” The results played out similarly to those from Cannes, with Triet’s Palme d’Or-winner taking the top prize of Best European Film.

“Anatomy of a Fall” additionally won the European Director award for Triet, who also shared the European Screenwriter award with Arthur Harari. Sandra Hüller was nominated twice in the European Actress category for her performances in “Anatomy of a Fall” and “The Zone of Interest,” ultimately winning for the former.

The results mirrored those of the 2022 European Film Awards, when “Triangle of Sadness” followed its Palme d’Or win with a similar sweep. That film went on to score Oscar nominations for Best Picture, Best Director, and Best Original Screenplay. “Anatomy of a Fall” is well-positioned for a similar awards run, though France chose Trần Anh Hùn’s “The Taste of Things” over Triet’s film as its Best International Feature submission.

Keep reading for a complete list of winners from the 2023 European Film Awards.

European Film:
WINNER “Anatomy of a Fall”
“Fallen Leaves”
“Green Border”  “Me Captain”
“The Zone of Interest” 

European Director:
WINNER Justine Triet, “Anatomy of a Fall”
Aki Kaurismäki, “Fallen Leaves”
Agnieszka Holland, “Green Border”
Matteo Garrone, “Me Captain”
Jonathan Glazer, “The Zone of Interest”

European Screenwriter:
WINNER Justine Triet and Arthur Harari, “Anatomy of a Fall”
Aki Kaurismäki, “Fallen Leaves”
Maciej Pisuk, Gabriela Łazarkiewicz-Sieczko and Agnieszka Holland, “Green Border”
İlker Çatak and Johannes Duncker, “The Teachers’ Lounge”
Jonathan Glazer, “The Zone of Interest”

European Actress:
WINNER Sandra Hüller, “Anatomy of a Fall”
Eka Chavleishvili, “Blackbird Blackbird Blackberry”
Alma Pöysti, “Fallen Leaves”
Mia Mckenna-Bruce, “How to Have Sex”
Leonie Benesch, “The Teachers’ Lounge”
Sandra Hüller, “The Zone of Interest”

European Actor:
Thomas Schubert, “Afire”
Jussi Vatanen, “Fallen Leaves”
Josh O’Connor, “La Chimera”
WINNER Mads Mikkelsen, “The Promised Land”
Christian Friedel, “The Zone of Interest”

European Documentary:
“Apolonia, Apolonia”
“Four Daughters”  “Motherland”
“On the Adamant”
WINNER “Smoke Sauna Sisterhood”

European Discovery – Prix Fipresci:
“20,000 Species of Bees”
WINNER “How to Have Sex” “La Palisiada”
“Safe Place”
“The Quiet Migration”
“Vincent Must Die”

European Animated Feature Film:
“A Greyhound of a Girl”
“Chicken for Linda!”
WINNER “Robot Dreams”
“The Amazing Maurice”
“White Plastic Sky”

European Short Film:
“Daydreaming So Vividly About Our Spanish Holidays”
“Flores Del Otro Patio”
WINNER “Hardly Working” 

Leave a comment