The annual Women in Film (WIF) Honors have unveiled its 2023 recipients.

This year’s awards, which celebrate the 50th anniversary of the organization, will honor “Flamin’ Hot” producers Eva Longoria and Linda Yvette Chávez with the Crystal Award for Advocacy, as well as “Past Lives” filmmaker Celine Song and actress Greta Lee. The coveted Jane Fonda Humanitarian Award will go to “Barbie” actress America Ferrera, with Fonda presenting the award in-person.

“Grown-ish” actress Yara Shahidi has been named the recipient of the WIF Max Mara Face of the Future Award, as previously announced.

The awards will take place November 30 in Los Angeles, with proceeds benefitting the educational and philanthropic programs at WIF as well as the advocacy for gender parity throughout the entertainment industry.

Per the official press statement, the Crystal Award for Advocacy honors outstanding individuals and groups of women who are creating increased opportunities for the advancement of women working throughout the screen industries. 

“Flamin’ Hot” producer Longoria has cemented herself as an industry staple known for her work both in front of and behind the camera for over 20 years and is honored for her unwavering commitment to centering Latinas, both onscreen and off, and for her collaboration with screenwriter Chávez. 

Writer-director Song “brings a steadfast commitment to telling diverse, inclusive stories, and working with fellow trailblazing women” especially with directorial debut “Past Lives” starring Lee. 

Ferrera’s longtime activism and her work with Poderistas, a non-profit she launched, plus HARNESS an organization she co-founded, will be awarded with the Jane Fonda honor.

“The work of this year’s honorees exemplifies outstanding creative vision and the change WIF has worked to create in its 50 years as an organization,” Monica Levinson and Talitha Watkins, co-chairs of the WIF Honors Committee, said in a statement. “Our industry is better because of these women and their commitment to spurring lasting impact in Hollywood, both in front of and behind the scenes.”

WIF CEO Kirsten Schaffer added, “This year’s honorees show the strength and power of collaboration, inclusion, and how uplifting stories that have gone untold for too long make this industry better. With our industry in a moment of upheaval, which too often disproportionately impacts women and people of color, we need these women leading the way now more than ever, as we continue to fight for gender equity. WIF is grateful to shine a light on these formidable honorees as we celebrate our 50th anniversary.”

In addition to Levinson and Watkins, The WIF Honors Committee is comprised of Eryn Brown, Esther Chang, Michelle Lee, Tracy McNight and Ida Ziniti.

The WIF Honors are supported by year-round Presenting Sponsor Max Mara for the 20th year. The event is designed and produced by Carleen Cappelletti of Anchor Street Collective. The WIF Honors was planned alongside SAG-AFTRA to respect the ongoing union strike; the event fully adheres to strike guidelines and is sensitive to striking workers, their unions, and their allies, while still celebrating outstanding contributions to advocacy and collaboration that moves the needle towards gender equity in our industry, as WIF stated.

Leave a comment